[Skip to Content]


The 2024 ABA Foundation Community Commitment Awards opens for entries on Wednesday, May 1, 2024. All submissions must be completed by 11:59 p.m. ET, Monday, July 1, 2024

The ABA Foundation Community Commitment Awards showcases banks that set the standard for community engagement nationwide. The awards recognize and promote the many valuable ways banks of all sizes and charters contribute to economic growth, community development, and the enhancement of the quality of life in the communities they serve.

Bank programs can be submitted for one or more Community Commitment Award categories. In addition, a current non-CEO bank employee can be nominated for the George Bailey Distinguished Service Award. This award is given to a bank employee who demonstrates outstanding initiative and impactful work and inspires others.

Please visit ABA.com for essential details about the awards and subscribe to The Spirit of Banking newsletter to stay current on ideas to improve the well-being of your customers and communities. Don't hesitate to contact Melissa Murray at awards@aba.com if you have questions.

Once you are ready to submit your bank program, click “Enter Here” to begin the entry process.


Entry Requirements

  • All submissions are narrative based.
  • Bank programs must be operational for more than one year. 
  • Bank program narratives must illustrate the program’s alignment with community needs, institution involvement, originality, sustainability, and measurable results.
  • The George Bailey nominee must not be the bank's CEO but a current employee. 
  • Narratives for the George Bailey Award must describe the nominee's impact on their colleagues, community, and the bank that goes beyond their job responsibilities.

Community Commitment Award Categories

Please carefully read the category descriptions to determine which category fits your entry. You may enter a different or the same program in multiple categories. However, if the same program is entered in more than one category, it is strongly recommended that you tailor your narrative responses to the entry form questions based on the category.

  1. Affordable Housing
  2. Community and Economic Development
  3. Financial Education
  4. Financial Inclusion (formerly Economic Inclusion)
  5. Protecting Older Americans
  6. Supporting Military Families
  7. Volunteerism
  8. George Bailey Distinguished Service Award

The ABA Foundation will recognize the 2024 Community Commitment Awards winners at the ABA Annual Convention in New York City, October 27-29. 

Frequently Asked Questions